I woke up the next morning. Of course, the first thing that I did was look at my alarm clock. Normally, I would see a big blur, and would have to squint a bit to see. It was a bit of a haze, but after just blinking a few time, it cleared up and the red 5:00 appeared bright and clear. I got up all energized and put the prescribed drops in my eyes and made my way downstairs.
My vision was just a tad hazy, but I think that was more part of waking up then anything else. It cleared up the longer I was awake. There was no pain. The only sensation that I had I'd compare to the feeling that you get after having your contacts in your eyes all day, when you start noticing the contacts in your eyes.
I instantly started testing my eyes. I stood at the edge of the kitchen and was able to see the digital clock on above the stove (maybe 20 feet away). It wasn't crystal clear, but definitely clear enough to figure out the time. At this point I couldn't remember whether or not it was crystal clear with my contacts or glasses on...I think I saw better before, but I'm picky (or a pessimist).
I looked at lights in the kitchen and they had a slight radiant halo above. I kinda had expected it after reading all the material before the surgery. It wasn't too bad...it was very slight.
The next test was turning on the TV. I sat on the couch about 13 feet away and flipped the channel to ESPN. Not because there was any pressing news I needed, but they always have the tickers at the bottom. At this point, the ticker at the bottom was a readable, but still a teeny bit blurred. I closed my left eye and found that I could read it clearly with my right. I then closed my right eye and was disappointed to find that it was a little blurry with my left. I was still able to read, but the blurriness was noticeable. It was still early, so I wasn't freaking out just yet...but I was sure I could read the ticker before with contacts/glasses.
My one-day post op appointed was scheduled for 8:30 am. So, to kill time, I started writing the first entry of this blog. It probably wasn't the best of ideas to stare at the computer a day after the surgery. My eyes could have used a little more rest, I'm thinking.
I wasn't sure if I should drive yet to the eye center, so Becky was willing to drive me to the appointment. Along the way, I did a few more tests with Becky. While on the highway, we both stared at the same highway exit sign, and Becky told me the exact moment she was able to read it. This test actually made me a little more comfortable about my vision, because she was able to read the signs about the same moment that I was able to make them out.
Once I arrived at the eye center, I was called and the first thing they did was the eye chart test. I was asked to cover one eye and read the bottom line. I could make out most of the letters, but the entire line was a little blurry. After the test, they told me that I was 20/20 in one eye and just a fraction worse in the other (probably my left). I'm not even sure that I deserved the 20/20, since it was so blurry. This is what makes the test kinda crappy, 'cuz if you can deduce the letter, you still get the score.
While I couldn't argue the awesomeness of seeing clearly without glasses or contacts, I couldn't help but be a little worried. I knew it was still early, though. The doc looked at my eyes and said that the healing was going well, and think that "it will be a homerun." That made me feel a little better.
That night we celebrated with Pizza and Starbucks.
No comments:
Post a Comment